Some Nights

Image

Some nights

It hurts that you’re not here.

So much, so that I invent delusions of your presence

To ease my aching heart.

And I feel the warm imprint of your skin

All fathomed by my wandering mind

And I hear the sweet drawl of your voice

Whispering into my ear, tickling my senses

And for a blissful moment-

Time pauses. The rest of the world takes in a harmonious breath

So that I may believe that you are here

With me.

But then the moment fades

The world exhales and I am left to catch myself

With only the sheets to caress my body

And you are not here.

And you were never here.

Some nights it hurts

Every night it hurts…

– s.f.b

Leave a Reply

